Ohio’s Only Revolutionary War Fort

Fort Laurens, Bolivar, Ohio

When I was visiting my family over Christmas this past December, I decided to start this blog and explore weird places nearby.  One day, my adventure crew (a.k.a., my sister, her friend, and my father) and I headed out to explore the somewhat ambitious list of places I wanted to go (including the abandoned amusement park in Chippewa Lake).

On our way to a place called Zoar (yes, Zoar, rhyming with “sore,” or—) that my parents had suggested as a destination, we were driving through a town called Bolivar and saw a sign for Fort Laurens, “Ohio’s Only Revolutionary War Fort,” and of course knew we had to stop by.

Who knew Ohio had a Revolutionary War fort?

Okay, so it soon became clear that there isn’t much of a fort actually left there—just a wall, some basic ruins, and a small museum we couldn’t visit because it was closed.

In fact, the weather was pretty disgusting, and having visiting other forts in the U.S., I have to say that Fort Laurens was fairly underwhelming.

IMG_3813

IMG_3811

IMG_3815

 

IMG_3817

IMG_3818

IMG_3821

Now, if you were to go visit there when it wasn’t pissing rain outside and the museum was actually open, the whole experience could be a bit better.  You could, say, see some old artifacts or something.  Thimbles, needles, old bullets. I don’t know.

The story of Fort Laurens itself, I later learned, was actually quite interesting.  Per their website, “Fort Laurens was built as a strategic location for staging an attack on the British at Fort Detroit during the American Revolution.”  But things quickly went south after it was built.  Think: bad conditions, few soldiers, and raids by local Native American tribes and British soldiers.

That day, though, it was just cold.

Leave a Reply

